bb-sardegna_about-us

Das B&B Pedra Rubia ist in den Köpfen von Marco und Tiziana entstanden: Die Idee dazu gründet auf der Schönheit dieses Teils Sardiniens – einem wahren Paradies für Outdoor-Sportler und Liebhaber einer wilden Natur und einer spektakulären Meeresküste. Unsere Begeisterung für dieses Projekt entspringt der Vision, Gäste in diesem weniger bekannten Gebiet der Insel empfangen zu können und mit ihnen die Unverfälschtheit der Umwelt und der Menschen hier sowie die Natur und die Leidenschaft für Outdoor-Aktivitäten teilen zu können.

Unser Traum ist es, den Sulcis Iglesiente mit einem sanften, alternativen Tourismus aufzuwerten.

So haben wir abgesehen vom Bed &Breakfast auch die Associazione Sportiva Pedra Rubia (www.pedrarubia.com) gegründet, die auf Outdoor-Sport ausgerichtet ist. Weiter haben wir die dem Klettern in Sardinien gewidmete Homepage www.arrampicatasardegna.com aufgebaut.

Mittels der Associazione Sportiva Pedra Rubia bieten wir Führungen an (Mountain Bike, Trekking) und Unterstützung für Kletterer an. Alle Informationen dazu findest du im Bereich Aktivferien.

KONTAKTE

Wir und die Umwelt

Wir versuchen, unsere Unterkunft mit dem grösstmöglichen Respekt für die Umwelt zu betreiben: Das Warmwasser wird durch Solarpaneele aufgeheizt – an Sonne fehlt es hier wahrlich nicht … –, für die Beleuchtung verwenden wir energiesparende Lichtquellen, weiter wählen wir möglichst wenig Energie verbrauchende Haushaltsgeräte aus. Um auch unsere Gäste zum Gebrauch der öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel zu ermuntern, bieten wir Transfers vom und zum Flughafen und von und zu den Bahnstationen der nahen Umgebung an.

Wir vermieten Fahrräder, auch um unseren Gästen auf kurzen Strecken eine gewisse Autonomie zu ermöglichen.

Warum Pedra Rubia?

Pan-di-zucchero-sunset

Unsere Philosophie ist stark mit dem Namen “Pedra Rubia” (Roter Stein) verbunden: Stein ist ein karges, oft als unnütz betrachtetes Material, das aber hier in Sardinien immer eine zentrale Bedeutung hatte. Man denke nur an die Nuraghen, die frühgeschichtlichen Turmbauten aus Stein, ein Symbol dieser Gegend. Oder an die Präsenz von nacktem Gestein auf der ganzen Insel, immer und überall. Der Fels als Materie ist für uns Kletterer sowieso wertvoll und faszinierend; und hier im Sulcis Iglesiente trifft das besonders stark zu: Das Gestein ist von hervorragender Qualität, sei es für das Klettern, sei es für den Abbau – doch das Klettern und die Bergwerke wären eine andere Geschichte, die hier zu weit führen würde…

Und unser Stein ist eben rot, “rubia”, wie die Klippe des Pan di Zucchero, der sich jeden Tag im Abendrot verfärbt, bei den spektakulären Sonnenuntergängen, die wir von unserem Bed & Breakfast aus geniessen.

marco-tiziana-pedra-rubia
Contact details 
Phone : +393208410636Email: info@pedrarubia.com

About us

bb-sardegna_about-usPedra Rubia is the brainchild of Marco and Tiziana, and is inspired by the beauty of this part of Sardinia – a true treasure trove for anyone who loves outdoor sports and nature at its wildest, not to mention the stunning coastline and Mediterranean waters.

What motivates us is our desire to welcome visitors to this less-well-known part of the island and help them get to know this unspoilt setting, its unassuming inhabitants and its natural treasures, as well as our passion for the great outdoors. Our goal is to promote the Sulcis Iglesiente, encouraging an alternative form of tourism.

In addition to our Bed & Breakfast, in fact, we are professionals of outdoor: Marco is a Mountain Guide (Big Alpine Guide) and Tiziana a Tourist Guide (look at the site wheresardinia.com) and Yoga Master, both founders of Pedra Rubia  (www.pedrarubia.com), which focuses on outdoor sports, and we are the creators of the rock-climbing website www.arrampicatasardegna.com which is dedicated to exploring what Sardinia has to offer in terms of free climbing.

We offer various services: guided tours biking, hiking and trekking, climbing experiences. You will find all the information you need in the Active Holidays section of our site.

HERE ALL OUR CONTACTS

Visit our other websites!

wheresardinia-guided-tours where Sardinia offers guided tours in Sardinia, with a special focus on Sulcis Iglesiente, in the South West of the island. The places are all rich in history and nature.

Big Alpine Guide Marco Bigatti, the first mountain guide that works mainly in Sardinia, is located in the South West of the island.
arrampicatasardegna.com promotes outdoor sports in Sardinia, in particular the climbing in the area of Sulcis and Iglesias.

Pedra Rubia and the environment.

We try to run our bed and breakfast in a way that respects the environment around us. Hot water is produced by solar thermal panels (after all, there’s no shortage of sunshine) and all the lights are energy efficient. Our electrical appliances have also been chosen on the basis of low energy consumption. We provide a transfer service to train stations and the airport, to encourage our guests to use public transport.

We also offer bike hire, not least to provide a degree of autonomy for shorter journeys.

Why ‘Pedra Rubia’?

Pan-di-zucchero-sunsetOur name and our philosophy are inseparable. ‘Pedra Rubia’ means ‘red stone’ in the local dialect. Stone is a poor man’s material, generally, and is often thought worthless, but here in Sardinia, it has long held a key role. You just need to look at those symbols of Sardinia, the Nuraghe, or at the bare rock that abounds all over the island. For us, as climbers, stone is both fascinating and valuable, and this is all the more true here in the Sulcis Iglesiente given how good the local rock is for climbing.

And the rocks here are ruby-red, or ‘rubia’, like the Pan di Zucchero sea stack that we see tinted red in the setting sun every evening from the windows and balconies of our B&B.